Fly in the Sky! The Different Airspace Classes You Should Know - FOX21- Entertaining Delmarva One Click at a Time

Fly in the Sky! The Different Airspace Classes You Should Know


Different Airspace

There are roughly 1.7 million people that fly each day.

All flights, domestic or international, must adhere to certain rules of the air. The rules of the air allow for safe travels and provide guidelines for pilots and drone operators to follow.

Below are the different airspace classes. These are crucial for safety and regulations in flight.

Each airspace class has different rules and regulations to learn before taking off, so keep reading to learn what you need to know!


Not all airspace is regulated. Airspace could be designated uncontrolled or Class G. A Class G airspace is an airspace that is unregulated or uncontrolled. This simply means that this area is not monitored by air traffic control(ATC).

Class G is used in the United States for leftover airspace.

This region will stretch from the ground level to the bottom of Class E. Class G flying requires no clearance to fly, but weather requirements and speed restrictions are still in place for safety.

Airspace Classes

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has broken up the airspace into five different classifications. The five classifications are between Class A and Class E.

Classification A

Class A airspace is above the entire United States. Each region is measured by its’ mean sea level or MSL.

This region starts at 18,000 feet above sea level. 18,000-60,000 feet above sea level makes up the range of Class A. In order to fly in Classification A, one must be cleared by the ATC. Instrument Flight Rules are required in this space so only planes may fly in the zone, no drones are allowed.

Classification B & C

Class B airspace is airspace that is busy!

A Class B airspace can vary depending on the airport. This region if drawn out, will look like an upside-down triangle with the point at the airport and extending out and up to 10,000 feet above sea level.

This allows for ATC to control how airplanes are taking off and landing and well as where they are in the air.

This region has the most strict rules, due to the traffic in the area, and require authorization to enter into the region. It also requires the pilot to have a Class C transponder.

Class C airspace classes are also defined by the airports they surround. Starting at ground level, A Class C airspace extends to 4,000 feet above ground level and requires two-way radio communication to enter!

Classification D & E

A Class D airspace is for areas that see less air traffic.

These airspaces mostly handle general aviation, flight schools, and non-commercial flights. Therefore, the rules are less stringent.

Extending from the ground, up to 2,500 feet above the ground this airspace requires two-way communication. When no communication is available the space reverts to either a Class G or Class E.

A Classification E airspace is the final type of airspace to know.

This region controls everything else that is not currently classified. It is the only controlled airspace where communication is not required as well. There are no pilot requirements as well, so a training pilot is allowed to fly in Class E. This region can extend from 700 above the ground to 17,999 feet.

Technically the space above Class A is also considered Class E, but most planes can’t reach above 60,000 feet.

Get Your Wings Now

It is estimated that around 5,000 planes are in the air at any one time.

It is important to learn and know the different classifications for air travel. The rules of the road protect us from injury and the rules of the air attempt to do the same.

If you want to know more about the different airspace classes we can help make your flying dreams reality!

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. Frankly and this Site make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you are affiliated with this page and would like it removed please contact

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNowAll content © Copyright 2000 - 2015, WorldNow and EBOC. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.